Search

Office of Sustainability
Division of Finance & Administration

  • Campus Kitchen photo
  • Campus Kitchen food
  • Campus Kitchen food
  • Campus Kitchen food

Our Story

In January 2014, students and staff at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) participated in the Campus Kitchen Project first-ever launch grant video competition and won $5,000 to start a Campus Kitchen. Since then, they've been coordinating with dining services, creating partnerships with other community organizations and recruiting excited volunteers. The IUPUI Campus Kitchen had their grand opening on September 5th, 2014.

The Campus Kitchen at IUPUI (CKIUPUI) is the 37th Campus Kitchen and the first to open in the state of Indiana. We will operate out of the kitchen in the IUPUI Campus Center and initially recover food that would have otherwise gone to waste from Chartwells-run IUPUI Food Service. This food will then be used to create nutritious meals for clients in the Indianapolis community. CKIUPUI will also partner with Wheeler Mission Ministries, an organization that provides programs and services for the homeless and those in need. The Campus Kitchen is sponsored by the IUPUI Office of Sustainability.

Learn more about the national impact at The Campus Kitchens Project, Inc.

Our Mission

  • Strengthen Bodies by using existing resources to meet hunger and nutritional needs in our community;
  • Empower Minds by providing leadership and service learning opportunities to students, and educational benefits to adults, seniors, children and families in need; and
  • Build Communities by fostering a new generation of community-minded adults through resourceful and mutually beneficial partnerships among students, social service agencies, businesses and schools.

Volunteer

Learn more about volunteering at The Campus Kitchen at IUPUI

Cooking Shifts

  • Assist the IUPUI Shift Leaders in creating a nutritious meal! No cooking experience necessary, just come ready to have fun and serve our community!

Delivery Shifts

  • Assist the IUPUI Shift Leaders with delivering the meals to Wheeler Mission Ministries. Volunteers will aid the staff at Wheeler Mission with lunch preparations and/or clean-up. We provide all transportation--just come ready to help out.

Food Rescue Shift

  • Assist the IUPUI Shift Leaders with rescuing food from donors.

Student Leaders

Campus Kitchen Director
Kelly Moors – kmoors@umail.iu.edu

Programming Coordinator
Arooj Mohammed - asmohamm@iun.edu

Finance  & Compliance Manager
Tanjimul Alam – alamt@umail.iu.edu

Publicity & Outreach Coordinator
Cristina Padilla - cpadilla@umail.iu.edu

Staffing & Volunteer Coordinator
Vacant – contact kmoors@umail.iu.edu if interested

AmeriCorps VISTA – CKIUPUI Program Manager
Geneva Sanders - gemsande@iu.edu

Fall 2017 Volunteer Shifts Sign Up Here

Thurs. Aug 31 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Sept 6 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Sept 7 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Fri. Sept 8 - Cooking Shift 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Sat. Sept 9 – Delivery/Svc - Riley 10:30 am – 1:30 pm
Mon. Sept 11 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Sept 12 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Sept 13 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Sept 14 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Sept 18 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Sept 19 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Sept 20 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Sept 21 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Sept 25 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Sept 26 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Sept 27 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Sept 28 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Fri. Sept 29 - Cooking Shift 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Sat. Sept 30 – Delivery/Svc - Wheeler 8:30 am – 11:30 am
Fri. Oct 6 - Cooking Shift 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Sat. Oct 7 – Delivery/Svc - Riley 7:30 am – 10:30 am
Mon. Oct 16 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Oct 17 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Oct 18 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Oct 19 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Fri. Oct 20 - Cooking Shift 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Sat. Oct 21 – Delivery/Svc - Riley 10:30 am – 1:30 pm
Mon. Oct 23 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Oct 24 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Oct 25 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Oct 26 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Oct 30 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Oct 31 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Nov 1 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Nov 2 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Nov 6 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Nov 7 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Nov 8 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Nov 9 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Nov 13 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Nov 14 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Nov 15 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Nov 16 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Nov 20 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Nov 21 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Nov 22 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Nov 23 – Delivery/Svc 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Nov 27 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Nov 28 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Nov 29 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Nov 30 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Mon. Dec 4 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Tues. Dec 5 - Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wed. Dec 6 - Cooking Shift 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm
Thurs. Dec 7 – Delivery/Svc - BW 3:30 pm – 6:00 pm

If you are interested in volunteering you can sign up and register here: Sign Up Here

Office of Sustainability

Lockefield Village
980 Indiana Avenue, Room 4408
Indianapolis, IN 46202
sustindy@iupui.edu
317.278.1308
To Top